Skip to Main Content

Chamber Honors Three Local Graduating Seniors at Annual Student Scholarship Luncheon

May 12, 2015

(L to R) Hannah Zachary (Irondequoit HS), Judge Joseph Genier (Annual Student Scholarship Luncheon Chair), Zachary Sidorenko (Bishop Kearney HS) and Marygrace Thomson (Eastridge HS) at the Rochester Yacht Club.

Each spring, the Irondequoit Chamber of Commerce recognizes three local graduating seniors who have demonstrated aptitude and academic excellence in business. We proudly support our future business leaders and presented these students with scholarship checks at our Annual Student Scholarship Luncheon at the Rochester Yacht Club on May 12, 2015.

Awarding our annual scholarships promotes business careers and the Irondequoit community to our most promising youth. In addition to being honored by the Chamber, each student also received certificates of recognition from the Town of Irondequoit, the Monroe County Clerk's Office, the Monroe County Legislature, and the New York State Assembly.

The 2015 scholarship winners are:

Marygrace Thomson, Eastridge High School. Marygrace is student dedicated to personal excellence, and is a member of DECA, Masterminds, Green Team, Envirothon, and Mock Trials. She also participated in the Marching Band drumline, and works on the Phoenix student newspaper. Marygrace plans to attend SUNY New Paltz to study business.

Zachary Sidorenko, Bishop Kearney High School. Zachary is an accomplished student athlete playing Varsity Baseball for Bishop Kearney as well as Hockey for Perinton. He is also a dedicated volunteer at Wolk Manor nursing home and school of the Holy Childhood. Zachary plans to study business administration in college, with the long term goal to start his own business.

Hannah Zachary, Irondequoit High School. Hanna has an impressive student career in DECA, as a leader, Secretary of the club, and as competitor in the organization's International Business Plan event. Hannah has also received the DECA's National Emerging Leader award. Hannah plans to attend Ithaca College to study accounting.

The Irondequoit Chamber thanks our generous sponsors who make these scholarships possible:

Gold Sponsors:

Supervisor Adam Bello, Town of Irondequoit

Dr. Joseph Carbone, Monroe County Legislator

Cheryl Dinolfo, Monroe County Clerk

Judge Joseph Genier, Irondequoit Town Justice

Mr. Peter Kelderhouse, Sr., Sherman Furniture

New York State Assemblyman Joseph Morelle

Richard Orczyk, Hunt Real Estate

Arnald Roberti, Adrian Jules, Ltd.

Ukrainian Federal Credit Union

Silver Sponsors:

Daniel Buerkle, The Rug Market

David Breen, Herrema's Market Place 2

Superintendent Jeffrey Crane, West Irondequoit Schools

Sandra Holloway, Tasteful Connections, Inc.

Rocco Leone, New York Life

David Moffitt, Grid Marketing, Inc.

Joseph Morelle, Jr., Monroe County Legislator

John Norris, Seabreeze Amusement Park

John Perticone, Irondequoit Town Board

Patrick Rossi, Irondequoit Town Justice

Fred Squicciarini, MassMutual

Corinne Wightman, Personal Design Florist


Florence Bianco, Past President, Irondequoit Chamber